Homage to The People’s Library at #OWS

During my visits to  Zucotti I split my time between hanging with the finance team, attending working group sessions and sitting in The People’s Library.  A ramshackle collection of chairs positioned in a sea of 5,000 books.  It was dreamy.  Books + occupation + reading with other 99%ers = amazing.

And that isn’t an overstatement.  My use of the word amazing is justified.  There was something so wonderful about sitting in the park, listening to the mic checks washing over the occupation in waves, reading through a copy of the collected works of Flannery O’Conner.  Where was I?  Zucotti Park in Lower Manhattan.  Wow.

I snapped a few pictures from one of my visits to the camp.  Now that the NYPD has cleared the space and seized the library (storing it reportedly somewhere in the 50s in a sanitation warehouse) I am posting a few photos in memoriam.  Until more books arrive – and the will.  Word is they already are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Homage to The People’s Library at #OWS

  1. I remember feeling so at-home in every corner of Zucotti Park, but feeling especially so at the library. Thanks for sharing these photos. Let’s hope this is not the last we see of these books.

Leave a Reply

